photo-5There is so much green stuff in our refrigerator.  So Much.  It’s overwhelming.   Having a farm share is both exhilarating and exhausting.  Having a farm share means that once a week you will pick up a giant box of delicious veggies that you were so excited about having in February, and now in July, you are planning work outs that include eating salad for time.  I feel really lucky to have all that shit in my fridge, but to say it doesn’t cause me a high level of anxiety looking at all that food knowing I’ve got to find ways of using it before it goes bad, would be a lie.

Today is day four.  Today is the day that the potato chip craving starts.  I’m pretty sure that this must happen to everyone.  Today is the day that I’d rather eat nothing in that full refrigerator, because the only thing my tastebuds will tolerate (I’m pretty sure) is a potato chip.  It’s genetic though, totally not my fault.  My grandmother’s nickname was “Chipper” because she was addicted to potato chips.  I’m not kidding.

I’m going to eat salad.

Here is my go to salad: Greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, kalamata olives.  And a super easy Whole 30 friendly dressing?  Equal parts (1/4 C) evoo and red wine vinegar, 1 tsp minced garlic, and whole bunch of minced kalamata olives and a good pinch of salt.  Mix and toss!

Salad is what I thought we’d be having for dinner.  I was wrong.  We have other veggies that are in far more desperate need of being eaten.  Namely, Chinese cabbage (seriously, I think there should be a limit to the amount of this that one family is required to eat, for cripes sake) parsnips, and zucchini.  Oh good, those three things go together so well… Also…Haddock that I purchased and really have to use today.  So, what does one do with flavorless haddock that God only intended to be eaten by covering with breadcrumbs and fried?  Bacon of course!   photo-7

So…Bacon covered haddock, roasted cabbage, roasted parsnips, and grilled zucchini.   And it’s Thunder storming something nice, so I am a horrible wife, making my husband grill.

photo-6

 

Except the joke’s on me, because he made me hold the umbrella while he worked, and made me run in and out to grab this and that.   pschhh.

I missed yesterday’s rundown:  but for breakfast I had a hardboiled egg and an apple.  Lunch was leftover pulled pork and cabbage.  Another peach somewhere in there.  A handful of almonds.  Dinner was steak, roasted sweet potatoes and kohlrabi, and SALAD.

Today’s rundown:  breakfast was an egg over pulled pork (best breakfast, srsly).  A snack of carrots.  Lunch was egg salad with easy mayo over a bed of LETTUCE, with chopped tomatoes, and pickles.  A handful of almonds.  Dinner was the bacon wrapped grilled haddock, which is obviously delicious.  The cabbage, parsnips, and zucchini….also delicious.

photo-8 See you after the 4th!!

About Midge

Stay at home mom/goddess, with a part time job as an events planner/fundraiser/outreach educator/whateverthehellmydepartmentwantsmetodo at BOCES Youth Development Department! I love my kids, I love to cook, I love to use social media, I love to drink, I love to eat, I would love to be a knitter, I need to read more, and I LOVE to work out!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

